## HONOURS AND AWARDS COMMITTEE REPORT FOR THE January 2018 BOARD MEETING IN ZAGREB, CROATIA

The task for this committee was to help process the winners of the 2018 Kathrene Kendall Award and 2018 Eileen Younghusband Award. The committee followed the guidelines stipulated in the IASSW Manual of Procedures Document and prepared the calls for applications for the two awards. These were then posted on the IASSW website very much on time and disseminated through other channels like the list serves of various regional associations of schools of social work. Board members were also reminded of the same through official emails by the IASSW Executive Secretary and encouraged to disseminate the call for nominations to their respective regions and networks.

The deadline for the Kathrene Kendall Memorial Award was 30<sup>th</sup> September 2017 while that for the Eilene Younghusband Award was 30<sup>th</sup> October 2017. It took so long before the first nomination was received by the committee through the committee chair with a copy to the IASSW Secretary General. At the close of the call for nominations for the two awards, the committee had received nominations as follows:

## Kathrene Kendal Memorial Award

Name of Nominee	Position and Institution	Person Nominating	
Marilda Villela Iamamoto	Professor: Rio de Janeiro State University - Brazil	Luz Milagros Cordero- Puerto Rico	
Orit Nuttman-Shwarz	Associate Professor: School of Social Work, Sapir College - Israel	Rachel Dekel, Bar Ilan University - Israel	
Martha S. Bragin	Associate Professor: City University of New York	Dr. Bree Akesson, Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada	
Venkat Pulla	Senior Lecturer: Australian Catholic university - Australia	Self Nomination	
Marilyn Marjorie Anne Gray (Mel)	Professor: University of Newcastle - Australia	Peninah Kansiime & Jacob Mugumbate – University of NewCastle, Australia	

## **Eilene Younghusband Award**

For this award, the committee received a single nomination for Prof. Marilyn Marjorie Anne Gray (Mel), University of Newcastle – Australia Proposed by Dr. John Victor Rautenbach, University of Fort Hare (South Africa) and Board Member, International Association of Schools of Social Work (IASSW).

## The selection process

The committee also received recommendation letters for all nominees for the Kathrene Kendal Award. Considering that Professor Marilyn Marjorie Anne Gray (Mel), University of Newcastle – Australia had been nominated for both KK and EY Awards and also that she was the only nominee for EY Award, the committee resolved to request her if she would agree to remain as a nominee for EY alone which she accepted. There being no other nominee for the EY Award and having fulfilled all requirements as stipulated by the IASSW, the committee submitted the name of Prof. Mel Gray for consideration to the board and was unanimously approved as the winner for the 2018 Eilene Younghusband Award. She has already accepted the award and is awaiting further directions on the way forward for the Eilene Younghusband lecture in the forthcoming Joint Social Work and Social Development Conference in Dublin, Scotland this coming July.

For the Kathrene Kendal Award, a score grid sheet was prepared and agreed upon by the committee members in order to more accurately help in ranking up the other candidates. This is attached herein as an appendix.

The score sheet was secretly/individually done without letting the members know what each was scoring. After all had finalised entering the scores, the score sheets were released to all in the committee with the total score of each committee member as follows:

Name of Nominee	Gidraph	Karene	Nino	Nilsa	Zulkanain	Total
Marilda Lamamoto	25	18	29	29	28	129
Orit Nuttman	26	23	28	15	26	118
Martha S. Bragin	27	26	30	12	27	122
Venkat Pulla	25	24	26	18	26	119

According to the updated IASSW Manual of Procedure,

..the Committee evaluates the nominations and submits a rank ordered list to the Board of Directors which makes the final decision.

In this regard, the committee herewith submits this report and the rank ordered list above and requests the board to determine the 2018 KK Award Winner.

The committee also requests the IASSW President to write a congratulatory letter to the 2018 KK and EY Award winners.

Finally, the committee requests that in future, the board should widely disseminate the calls for nominations in both awards in order to get resounding response while at the same time keeping in mind the set deadlines.

Respectfully submitted

Gidraph G. Wairire

Chair, Honours and Awards Committee